Juvenile Bald Eagle

Arvin and I picked up Helena and headed down Chuckanut Drive to the Skagit Valley. We were ready for some time out exploring after a full day at home yesterday. Soon we realized that the birds were out in force. We saw quite a few Bald Eagles, flocks of Snow Geese, Pintail Ducks and more. 

We drove through Edison and continued on to Padilla Bay where we took a short walk on the trail before heading back to Edison for a delicious lunch at Tweets. Then we walked over to Smith Vallee Gallery to see their new show all about birds. The opening is this evening but we couldn't make that, so we stopped to see the show instead. My friend Vikki and her sister Lynn have two paintings in the show and they are great. That's why I knew about the five o'clock opening and figured the show would have to be up already, and it was.

From there we headed back up Chuckanut. As we went we saw this juvenile eagle perched on a post. I forgot to set my camera to multi-shot so this is the only photo I got as he took off. I feel lucky it came out so well. What handsome birds they are. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.