Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Aγίων Tαξιαρχών

On our way into the village we pass the uninhabited monastery of the blessed archangels. I was startled on 29th May to discover that it was up for a €200K restoration as it seemed to me that perhaps €200K could be put to something more relevant or purposeful. I have also blipped it on 4th July, 3rd August plus the view from it on 21st August.

As it is International Holy Wells Month I have been blipping shrines beside water supplies and it suddenly occurred to me that if once upon a time the monastery was inhabited by monks then it must have a water supply, so I popped in to ask the builder who is carrying out the restoration. He very kindly turned off his generator and took me for a shortish walk to show me the ancient well, which I thought was a surprising distance from the buildings, roughly 150metres.

In Extras;
Returning to the monastery from the well this ancient wall has been injected with cement-based mortar to help the stones adhere to one another and prevent collapse.

The monastery accommodation comprises a single rectangular block. About three steps up from the surrounding ground is a covered verandah and behind were three separate cells but the central one is being converted into a bathroom. It is also possible to go down a few steps into the low-ceilinged space beneath these rooms where the floor is pierced by the rocks beneath.

Facing the accommodation block is the small chapel, and outside is the ossuary which has been tidied up a lot since I last took a look inside.

Camera sadly choosing soft focus. I could go back another day but don't want to interrupt the builders too much or they'll think I'm very odd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.