Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Luzia von Wyl Ensemble

Went to watch this 10 piece jazz ensemble at the Madinat Theatre last night. Hadn't been there in AGES. In fact, I can't even remember the last time - and as it turns out, they are marking 10 years of being open to the public (the theatre i.e.)

So... Switzerland are promoting the country in this region, and Nescafe brought us this band. The ticket was highly subsidized (£10) which is the main reason why I booked it! They were excellent musicians and it was fascinating actually watching the music being built up, but I'm afraid I love a good melody too much to be able to fully appreciate their compositions. All original I should add and all composed by Luzia von Wyl herself.

Unfortunately, G & I were also extremely tired, so when they took a 20 minute break, we headed back to the car and home. Not something we've ever done before.

And prior to this, I tried to meet up with an old school friend for coffee. I got to the meeting place to discover - the branch of the hotel she had mentioned was actually half an hour drive away! Miscommunication if there ever was.

And before that, we did a bit of a shop and delivered the car back to Volvo to sort out a few things from the last repair. They had asked me to drive the car for a bit and come back with anything that lingered. They were impressed with the detailing. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.