Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Graffiti

Wow - I had such a hectic day yesterday, there was no time (or energy) left to even *think* of blipping at the end of it! Well, maybe I thought of doing it, but the energy was definitely not there, proven by the fact it has taken almost 45 minutes to view, select, edit and choose pictures for today.

So... the day began early-ish with a 90 minute long phone call to my dear sister in HK... This made us incredibly late for church, but we were there for the most important bits i.e. communion and sermon! And then we met up with friend Marja at the end of the service and the day went spinning!

First off, I showed off my newly detailed and highly polished car off to a fellow Volvo fan whilst G & Marja shopped for lunch. He was well impressed. Raced home to eat said lunch as there were two very hungry (and tired) people in the car. (Not me!). The plan to do an early visa run for G was changed before I even got up to the flat, having parked the car!

So... instead of racing off to the mountains and Oman border, we had a nap (the ultimate Friday afternoon luxury) and then headed over to - THE CREEK! (Read - FAVOURITE beauty spot). Please have a look at two of my extras for birds eye views of the creek - looking in both directions from the top of a car park.

Marja has never seen this part of town and she was well impressed. We even had a ride on an abra - something I haven't done for years! G has taken some really super shots and I am hoping she might blip the afternoon.

We went on to experience the sights, sounds and delights of the Spice and Gold souk (and everything in between) after that. That was several hours of browsing that I hadn't really planned for - but it was incredible to see the change in design style of jewellery and even other staples that we are so familiar with. Being the photo-journalist that I am, I took pictures of everything, but am rapidly running out of extras! I might do a collage of all the unique souvenirs, but it was the gold jewellery that really worried me. SO loud and ostentatious - it's not even funny. I have no idea what's happening to people's taste.

We finished the evening by introducing Marja to sizzlers at Caesar's... walked into the restaurant on a Friday night at peak time without booking... we were very lucky to get a table! :D

And my actual blip... is of a bit of graffiti we spotted in a side street in the Gold Souk. Marja had gone on the hunt for Pakistani shoes and there it was. I am well impressed with the artist. I read recently that the Municipality want to make Dubai an "open air" museum with art and culture everywhere. Not sure about how that will pan out but if we get more like this around town... it would be pretty cool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.