Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Wind, drizzle and fog

There was a vague plan today to pop to IKEA for a browse and a few essentials. I haven't been there for a long time - I like to restrict my visits to once a year. Not that I don't enjoy it when I'm there (especially their ice creams) but it's always as if everyone in town has also decided to do their once a year trip on that day. Especially on Sundays.

However, JR (another gold star!) went to the gym, then took Archie to the Meadows in the wind and drizzle. She then flooded the bathroom. She turned on the hand shower thingie to warm it up, put it down, and told it not to swish round and spray outside the shower, wandered off and forgot about it. Funnily enough, this happened not that long ago. Still, it's good to give the floor tiles a thorough soak every now and again.

By this time, the Ikea idea was abandoned, the fire was lit, a nice snack lunch was partaken of, and another leisurely rugby afternoon for me and Waitrose visit for JR. This time I could just enjoy the rugby without the deep sense of foreboding.

Archie was unsettled as we watched the game. Was he fed up watching more rugby? He kept sitting up on the sofa, then running down to sit by my feet, then suddenly running round the table and back up in the sofa. I looked out and suddenly the drizzle seemed to have become a thick fog. Or was it my eyes?

No. The 'fog' seemed to be inside!!

I then realised that there was a slight smell of burning rubber (which must have been distrubing Archie). JR's wet slippers from the flooded bathroom incident had been put on top of the wood burner to dry off. And I was supposed to be keeping an eye on them... Oops. New slippers are needed.

Archie loves boxes. When he hears a new coffee pod box being opened, he runs towards the sound from wherever he is. JR will often throw the box for him to play with. It's ripped to shreds within minutes. Which is why I don't give them to him now - I can't bend down to pick up the hundreds of wee bits of card strewn around the house.

I quite liked this blurred phone photo action shot of him and his box. Besides, I couldn't get a proper shot of him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.