Heather Farm Wetland

On my way over to Wisley yesterday I noticed a sign for a new wetlands nature area, complete with cafe, and decided I would check it out today.

Apparently it only opened a month ago as the new headquarters for the Horsell Common Preservation Society on the site of an old mushroom farm.  The buildings are very impressive and the cafe looked good.  However first impressions of the wetlands itself were a bit disappointing: not a bird in sight and I do wonder if the main lake is sited too close to the  buildings.  The paths were also extremely muddy - though as a thoughtful detail, an area has been set aside with artificial grass, tap and hose for "dog cleaning" - and boots of course.

Still, it is obviously very early days, and I enjoyed my saunter around the site (though I could have done without the mud!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.