Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A walk through the woods...

A perfect day, which started out with a call with my parents, followed by a nice brisk 2-mile walk and then turkey sandwiches (leftovers from last night's delicious rotisseried turkey).  After lunch, we decided to go for another walk to a place Hubs hadn't been yet, but which I visit fairly regularly. This time of year, I can almost always find Wilson's Snipe at this location, although today we only caught the briefest glimpse of one flying into some tall grass.  

As were were winding through a wooded area, we came across an adorable Eastern Red Squirrel and I was madly trying to get photos as it zipped around.  Hubs and I were chatting as I snapped, and when I turned around there were two deer in the trail ahead of us.  I tried for some shots, but they were horribly backlit and they finally left the trail and headed into the woods.  As luck would have it, as we passed the spot, one of them was just off the trail.  We both stopped and stayed still and eventually this youngster (a fawn, most likely born this past spring) ventured closer.  This photo is uncropped, taken with the 300 mm lens with a 1.4 TC attached for an effective reach of 420mm.  I had to have Hubs help me select "the one" today since I got what I consider a very good selection of quality shots. 

This was one of two fawns and we eventually found Mama not too far away, browsing on some grass.  Quite a wonderful thing to be so close to this youngster.  

I posted 5 other pics - three deer, including one of both siblings, a trio of ducks and an adorable red squirrel.  starting HERE on Flickr.

Charlie (and I) thank you for all your lovely compliments on his portrait yesterday.  He's really is a lovable cat, the only cat I've ever had who actually begs to be picked up and carried around.  And, believe it or not, Phoebe is ever-so-slowly warming up to him.  Okay, well maybe  "warming up" is a bit optimistic...

Cheers, people.

PS: Last night was the best turkey we've ever made - it was juicy and perfectly cooked!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.