Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Taking a Tiny Break

The weather took a turn for the ugly overnight and when I awoke, everything was covered in ice.  The driveway was a sheet of black-ice, as were the deck and patio.  I tried taking a few cautious steps onto the deck and quickly decided that was a very bad idea.  So, it seemed like a good time to bring the Tinies out for some play time!

I set this up in my little light box, put the D600 and 105 macro on a tripod and proceeded to take a ridiculous amount of photos.  This isn't my comfort zone, photographically speaking, but it's fun to venture into the less-comfortable sometimes.  The Tinies weren't being very cooperative and they kept jumping off the flower, so it took some time (and a smidgen of museum wax) to get everyone to sit still long enough to shoot 9 images.  I stacked them in Helicon Focus to get the front-to-back focus and did a couple of minor tweaks in Lightroom.  Blip in the bag.

By a early afternoon, the temps had warmed enough to de-ice the driveway so I went to visit MIL.  She was in good spirits when I arrived although still confused as to why she's there.  But at least she isn't distressed.  We had a lot of laughs and when I left, the Activity Director was getting ready to do some arts-and-crafts projects with everyone.  She seems to be enjoying the company of the other residents, even though she's not been there long enough to remember or recognize them.  All in good time.  She does seem to recognize the Physical Therapist who's been working with her - and today when he came in the Activity Room she asked if he'd like to marry her.  Yep, definitely a theme.

Hubs is in Long Island for an all-day meeting so won't be home until late tonight.  Which means I'll do something quick and easy for dinner - hey, maybe a smoothie and some popcorn!  Don't laugh - I love popcorn with made with a bit of truffle oil and sprinkled with parmesan and black pepper.  It's delicious and high in fiber.  (That's my story and I'm sticking with it.)

Cheers.  And big thanks to Wrperry for hosting Tiny Tuesday!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.