Great White Pelican(Pelecanus onocrotalus)

I'm very much hoping to have this amazing bird confirmed as a Great White Pelican and not seen before up this end of Oman. I went looking for something a bit different and I think I might have found it. The beauty of Blipfoto is that I have a mission everyday to go out with my camera and find a beautiful bird to photograph. Where this bird was has no real access which is obviously very good for the birds(they can't be disturbed, other than by planes coming in to land!) and so this is a huge crop, but even among similar coloured birds(Flamingo) I could tell, even from such a long way away this bird was different, the huge bill and yellow skin under the bill was a big give away! What an amazing sight and I hope it stays in Muscat and doesn't fly on to where it is normally Spotted in Salalah as a vagrant. I'm waiting for conformation from Oman's bird experts, but I'm quite confident.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.