I know what I want but....

....just can't seem to do it! Yes - drawing class this evening! Perspective and vanishing points. I understood it theoretically but when it came to putting pencil to paper....I think it was the fact that in the first exercise I was unable to draw a vertical line and the  trees on my street perspective looked as if they were leaning backwards! Everyone struggled with it and at one point I just went into a fit of laughter as one of the other women's expression of complete mystification was priceless! I had tears running down my face, everyone else was laughing as well, at me! One of those occasions when the laughter becomes contagious! I haven't laughed like this since staff meetings! But at least the art teacher took it better than my head used to! I have decided I have a spatial perceptual awareness disorder - I have the same difficulties working out the horizontal in my photographs! Even when I can see something is wrong I am quite at a loss to know why and how to correct it. The other part of the evening that made me howl with laughter was when someone complimented me on the brick I had drawn in my imaginary hen house for the chickens to get hop onto and in through the hatch! It was the one bit I had not drawn but the teacher had!!
However the evening also had 2 other chicken related pluses - the teacher is setting up a new exhibition of Print work, and showed me a lino cut she said was me ....it was a giant hen with a woman sat on it and leaning into the chickens neck! I have of course bought it! I had already spotted a large chicken fabric doorstop and at the end of the evening she gave it to me! A friend made it for her but it wasn't to her taste and after moving it round her house and the gallery she had had enough of it! So a good laugh and 2 new chickens for me! Another good day!
The day was good before I even went to the drawing class as I spent the afternoon at Cotehele with Gilesey! It was bitterly cold, the snowdrops were nearly over which she had particularly wanted, and  and at one point we were hailed upon, but a hot chocolate and cream tea soon saw us ready to head into the cold once more! She of course made her cream tea wrong by putting the cream on first, I told her she was in Cornwall but she just wouldn't listen or agree with me - those Devonians - heathens! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.