A Drippy Day!

Dear Diary,

Well, at least on the photography front.  I've been so immersed in my ancestor's stories that I haven't ventured out very far for photographic inspiration.  It is so easy to be sucked into the black hole of genealogy!  Hours can fly by as I am wandering the streets of Portland in 1830!  But I find it so fascinating.  Tomorrow I will share my latest effort to honor my ancestors.

Today is Ash Wednesday and the 40 days of Lent begin.  The landscape is frozen under a new coating of snow and the temperatures are bone chilling.  Some shoveling today and hauling wood up from the barn cellar is in order.  I remember my friend Dotty recounting winters 90 years ago when the only warm place in her house was next to the wood stove.  How fortunate we are today to be able to just turn a dial and warm the entire house.  For me the wood stove is aesthetic, for her it was essential.

No major storms in sight, which is a good thing, and I can feel the renewed warmth of the sun which is staying up longer and longer.  That's a really good thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.