Companion Animal, Exhibit A: the Cat

Cat: one Hell of a nice animal. Frequently mistaken for a meatloaf. - B. Kliban

I learned on Monday afternoon that as part of the renovations currently occurring in my work building, one of the offices very near mine would be painted on this day. The last time they painted, I didn't think I'd mind. But I really did: the fumes about knocked me over.

And so I chatted with the appropriate parties and made plans to do an impromptu work-at-home arrangement for two days in the middle of the week. It's unusual for me, to be sure. But it seemed like the smart thing to do.

With several rounds of snow this week, to be quickly followed by the bottom dropping out on the thermometer, the timing seemed good: I'd get to spend two unexpected days in the company of those two fur-faces I love best, in the warmth and comfort of our home.

And so this was the scene on a sunny winter's afternoon. I was hard at work at my computer, typing away, doing stuff, as I usually do. And my dear friend and companion, Dexter, was keeping me company as best he knew how.

This shot was taken just after lunchtime. So Dexter was feeling pretty content. (Contentment, thy name is cat!) He'd just had wet food, Fancy Feast, to be exact, chopped grill flavor.

He'd been outdoors for a breath of fresh air on the porch, as he likes to do after lunch. He had just washed his toes, to keep them totally white and clean, which is a hot priority of his. (Cat mid-day task list . . . Lunch: check. Porch: check. Toes: check.)

He seemed to have a tiny smile on his face, and his eyelids were starting to close, as he began to lean into the next item on his to-do list: the afternoon nap. And is there anything more soothing and contentment-inducing in a house than the sight of a happy, sleepy (or sleeping) cat? I think not! Especially on a cold winter's day, what a fine companion is a cat!

It is my custom to include a song link with each posting. And so the word companion brought a particular song to mind. I grew up in a household with parents who adored music. My father liked his record albums and his eight-track tapes; and he liked them LOUD, with the bass booming. And my mother sang along to every love song on the radio.

I am thankful to have grown up with a love of music. Most of the music they listened to (and still do - for both are alive and doing well, praise the Lord!) was country music, and so our home rang with the sounds of Johnny Cash and June Carter and their ilk. It was a mighty fine upbringing, in all of the ways that were important. 

I still think the world has less light in it now than it did when Johnny and June were alive and kicking. And I adore watching them together: they are always so clearly in love, so wrapped up in each other. Theirs truly was a life-long love story for the ages (as my parents' love story has also been); I want mine to be one like that.

So there's a long, roundabout way of introducing my song. Here's Johnny and June with Darlin' Companion, from the Live in San Quentin performance. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.