Snow Moon

Late on Friday afternoon, a big snow squall moved through and it coated the roads quickly, then abruptly stopped. Clouds followed the storm, and when moonrise time came, I strolled about the house listlessly, looking out every window. Would I even get to see the moon on this night?

So I kept an eye to the skies, and eventually, around 6:30, I started seeing some light. Within 15 minutes, the moon was showing itself through the clouds, and I ran out instantly with my camera, trying to catch some photos before it disappeared.

My husband set up a moon viewing station in the middle of our drive way, and that's where I made my stand. It had a plastic yard chair and a little table, and I used them to steady my hand as I snapped away. And I thought to myself, the moon was a ghostly galleon, tossed upon cloudy seas . . .

I went out several more times in the bitter cold on this evening, watching and waiting for the penumbral eclipse. I did see the full moon unobscured, in the end (this photo, for instance, was taken around 8 pm), but the only sign I saw of anything out of the ordinary was a bit of darkening on the upper left corner.

The moon itself was accompanied by a very nice corona, and between the clouds and corona, I got some fine views, better even than clear sky, or at least, more dramatic. I liked this shot because you can fully see the moon's face, including the pretty little smile it's shining down on me.

Moon blessing . . . aaaaah . . .

The song to accompany this photo of the February full moon, also known as the Snow Moon, has to be from the Journey album Eclipse. It's a more recent one, featuring Arnel Pineda instead of the original lead singer Steve Perry. The song is Tantra (My Eyes Can See). I'll include just a few lines of its lyrics below:

When my freedom is where I choose to be
Look for some kind of sign from the heavens above
I hear one voice:
I am the love
I choose to love


I also choose love.
The GirlWithACamera

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.