I See Fire

I am easily amused, or so it seems. One of my strange hobbies in winter time is to photograph the light coming through the condensation on our bedroom windows in the morning. It starts out as frost on the window, but as it warms, it turns to droplets that dribble down the pane.

It was cold out - somewhere in the middle teens - and I was photographing the water droplets on the window. I started getting some gold behind it, and I realized that a beautiful sunrise was in the offing. So I parked myself by that window pane for the next 10 minutes and shot some photos. This shot represents the peak color of the sunrise through the trees in our side yard.

It reminded me of that scene from the film Out of Africa when the coffee fields catch fire and the young servant comes in to wake Karen. He tells her he thinks that she had better get up because "I think that God is coming." (Out of Africa is one of my favorite films, by the way; maybe it's because the two main characters remind me of my husband and myself, and we often comment on that when we watch the film together.)

The song to accompany this image . . . well, it's a favorite and I've used it just once before. It accompanied one of my earlier efforts at capturing window condensation art. The tune is from The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. Here's Ed Sheeran, with I See Fire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.