Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Part way home

I was on the bus at 0440 for my early morning flight to Paris. Some years ago I vowed never to go to Charles de Gaulle airport again, after a traumatic 9 hour delay there. Today it was needs must and an altogether better experience.

The main improvement was that the flight from Venice to Paris was on time and, more importantly, I was able to walk from one terminal to another for my flight to Newcastle.

Those of us who had to stay overnight at the Venice airport hotel, had become friends quite rapidly - humans can do well when adversity strikes. Not that I want to overstate the seriousness of a delayed flight, you understand! I had breakfast with a photographer from Oslo who will be returning with a costume and mask for next year's Carnival. Then a lovely woman from Trieste happened to be next to me on the plane and I have an invitation to visit in the future.

I was home in time for lunch.

Amazingly, the cats were delighted to see me and demanded attention. They have been off their food. Carla immediately ate a bowl of meat to celebrate my arrival!!

Mum was pleased to see me too.

I'm looking forward to sleeping in my own bed tonight and perhaps dreaming of Venice. It's been a wonderful trip.

PS I forgot to say that this image is made from four images, blended in Photoshop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.