Back To My Roots

Thursday is one of my walking days. Today I went back to where I grew up in Hutton. I parked my car outside the the church I got married in and walked through the country lanes to my senior school...St Martins. We were separated from the boys. Although the schools were next to each other we weren't allowed to mix. It's not like it these days. It's one big school.
I then walked through Hutton Mount and into Shenfield where I had to get a coffee so I could use the loo.
I then walked back into Hutton and along Hutton Drive to where I lived for 25 years. My parents moved from London to Hutton when I was three.
The house we lived in has an extension on it now and a conservatory. It doesn't look like the house I lived in anymore. But there was a bell and trellis my dad put up still in place. I liked that.
I then walked into Hutton Village where I went to my infants then junior school. The school was built in 1840 and when I went we were the first class to be in it as it had been closed for many years. They built the school around us. The school is now a nursing home. My dad worked there before he died which was 25 years ago.
I then walked back to the church. My brother was also christened in this church.
I hadn't done as many miles as I wanted so I continued to walk into Billericay.
I loved my walk...7 miles. I really felt like I was home again. It brought back many very happy memories of a wonderful childhood. We never had much but I had everything because I had a mum and dad who loved me very much. How I miss them. They died far too young.
I loved walking past the fields we played in. The pond we caught newts from. The trees we climbed. The playground we went to.
To top it all it was a beautiful crisp day.
After that it was back home, gardening, chiropractor, tesco and then a swim.
I've had a great day.

Just had a notice through to say this was my 1,000 blip. I really can't believe I made it to 1,000. Wow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.