Waiting for the day to start

My intention this morning was to take a photograph of the Robert Burns statue in the Auckland Domain with the morning sky in the background. This was in response to the invitation from blip central to post a photograph to show the creativity of Scotland (even in a country as far from Scotland as is New Zealand) for the Year of Creative Scotland. Got one, with which I was quite pleased.

However, both my adviser (S) and I thought that this is a better photograph. So this is my blip, and the other will wait for another time. EDIT: it can be seen in my blipfolio

I was heading up the hill to the University precinct, and took this picture looking east towards Rangitoto. The container wharf cranes are idle at this time of the day, and make a great line up behind the leafless branches of the trees in the foreground.

I will add that due to a disagreement between the union and management at the Auckland wharf, there is much less freight passing through the wharf here, as it has been transferred to Tauranga, because of more rapid turnaround for the ships, and lower costs. Then of course the goods have to be trucked north.

Better looked at large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.