Be Still (2016): Manna from Heaven

A morning trip into Manchester, as we had a couple of things that we needed to do.

We started off at Manchester Cathedral, and enjoyed one of their free coffee concerts (A Shropshire Lad was sung really well), with coffee/tea and cake afterwards (of course we made a donation). 

This was where we came across the Be Still (2016) exhibition. To quote the blurb it "celebrates the ancient Christian festival of Lent through the mindful reflection of art in six of Manchester's most iconic venues". The cathedral exhibition was all monumental ceramics. Interesting - and a bit gloomy.

Before we returned we called into St Anne's church to see the exhibits there. The blip is my attempt to shoot through a site specific installation hung from the main nave ceiling called Manna, by local artists Lesley Sutton and Rachel James. I am practicing aperture control on my DSLR, and think one or two of these small pieces of paper are in focus. Although most are not ! But I quite like the effect.

I quite like things like this, so I will try and get to the other venues before Easter. It will be an excuse to revisit the Art Gallery and John Rylands library (both always good), as well as the Hidden Gem (have I ever been inside), and most tantalising for me - Ziferblat in the Northern Quarter. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.