Shelley- the Dressmaker

Met Shelley this afternoon over at Marcelle Houses, the artist complex in Allloa where I have recently taken a studio.
 
Shelley makes children’s designer clothes, often-using material collected form charity shops.  Such is the demand for her work that she has a two-month waiting list.
“ I sell through my Facebook site and at craft fairs,” explained Shelley.
 
“It all started,” said Shelley, “ after my husband was made redundant and I had a four month old baby. I had a sewing machine in the attic and I decided to start making clothes from material I got from charity shops.”
 
She has not looked back. Once she realised there was a demand for her work her husband joined her in the business.
“I could sell more in one afternoon than he could earn in a month, so we decided to work together.”
 
Oh yes, and she has four children, including twins, so Shelley is a very busy young woman.



Check this video of her on YouTube 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.