There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Where the Road Ends

Monday afternoon after work, my husband picked me up and we went swimming at Bald Eagle State Park. (Here's a link to the Park's Web site for those curious to learn more.)

The clouds were really something, and I used the vivid mode on my camera to give the scene that extra boost of color saturation that turns the blues otherworldly. It reminded me of that day a few weeks ago when the clouds and reflections were really amazing out at Black Moshannon (vivid mode was also used for that shot).

We drove to a place in the park where the road is very old; and then beyond that to the place where the road ends, which is where I got out and stood to take this shot. On the lower left edge of this photo, you can see just beneath the water the remainder of the old road that was flooded when the dam was built.

Do you remember that scene near the end of the movie O Brother Where Art Thou when they flood the little town to build a dam? That's what I was reminded of, standing in this spot.

The flooded road gives this place a certain weird sensation: the feeling of things gone that used to be . . . a blue-sky reflection of the transient nature of things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.