A Tale From A Muddy Puddle In Essex

Three Raindrops


A raindrop was falling out of a cloud and it said to the raindrop next to it, “I’m the biggest and I’m the best raindrop in the whole sky”.
“You are indeed a fine raindrop”, said the second, “but you are not nearly beautifully shaped as I am and in my opinion, it’s shape that counts and I am therefore the best raindrop in the whole sky.”
The first raindrop replied, “Let us settle this matter once and for all”.  So they asked a third raindrop to decide between them.  But the third raindrop said, “What nonsense you’re both talking.  You may be a big raindrop and you are certainly well shaped, but as everybody knows that it’s purity that really counts and I am purer than either of you. I am therefore the best raindrop in the whole sky”.  Well, before either of the other raindrops could reply, they all three hit ground and became a part of a very muddy puddle.

Thank you Terry Jones of Monty Python fame for that story. I'm scraping the Blip barrel in rainy Essex today. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.