Cute Coot

Lovely to see the sunshine today. Spring is definitely in the air, I heard a male chaffinch singing its "vinkensport" song for the first time this year. I went for a walk around Seventy Acres Lake and think I heard, and might have seen, a chiff-chaff singing its "weet" call. Coots are boring I know but since one featured in my Countryfile calendar shot I have a bit of a soft spot for them. The one above and the water of the river Lea were catching the sunshine beautifully. As I left Fishers Green the sun was just setting. (Extras)

Today's poem is Poem Of Absence by Frances Horovitz. http://exceptindreams.livejournal.com/306152.html

Can't say I get this but we have a big, clattery red enamel tea pot in which we used to make a brew for the people who helped us on the nursery. I'm familiar with a child's cry being my clock.  Stutter is the perfect word for the sound of a typewriter. Poor Frances died of cancer of the ear at the age of forty-five.    

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.