Bittern - Fifty Shades Of Grey-Brown

I had plans to shoot for Friday 13th today. I haven't got a black cat but I thought maybe I could get a shot in the woods by the lake reminiscent of Crystal Lake in the film. Then it started raining. My constitutional was off. I visited Longlands Hide first and got some nice redwing and long-tailed tit shots.

From there to the Bittern Hide. Two women were just leaving and told me that the butterbump was not far into a patch of reeds fairly close to the hide. I stared for ages and just couldn't see it. Its camouflage is phenomenal. Even when I had spotted it I only had to take my eyes off it for a second and I'd lose it again.

It eventually came, very gingerly, walkabout. It moves slowly and cautiously, swaying from side to side with a crouching gait. It's a bit green about the gills and has green legs and feet, blending in with the fresh reeds too. I'm amazed by the size of its claws.

Thirteen, lucky for some. :) I've got decent pics of this iconic, elusive bird in the past but none recently. Delighted to be able to show you it in its entirety.         

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.