MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Redbrick College

I visited Amwell Nature Reserve this afternoon and got talking to a semi-pro wildlife photographer. His name is Brian and I got his life story before realising that he is the Brian who handed my car keys into the Police when I lost them at the reserve last summer. :) As we were chatting my swimming mate turned up.

We went to the James hide and had a nice gossip with another couple of birders. One of them has a moth trap and showed me his pics. Moths are not all dull brown. His pic of the gorgeous green merveille du jour was my favourite.

My mate and I then went for a walk along the banks of the river Ash. As we rounded a bend, parkland opened up and the evening sun was catching the red brick of buildings on the Easneye estate. The mansion on the estate, and presumably these buildings too, were designed by Alfred Waterhouse who designed the Natural History Museum. I love the integral dovecote. The mansion is now home to the All Nations Christian College.

We continued a bit further and photographed a lovely, primrose yellow, seventeenth century, weather-boarded cottage. We walked back to the reserve traversing quite a steep hill with beautifully springy grass. I have looked at the map and think it is a tumulus.

So lovely to have been out in the sunshine. :)







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.