MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Rose Water And Rosé

Mr Q bought me a bottle of champagne for Valentine's. He knows not to buy me flowers, being retired flower growers they hold no allure for us. :)

I thought I'd try to create a retro romantic pic. I got out the coupes, also known as saucers, that belonged to my mother-in-law. They don't hold the bubbles as well as flutes but we enjoyed drinking out of them. I have friends in the wine trade who have reverted to using saucers. They're too young to remember when they were the glass of choice. It is said, erroneously, that the shape was modelled on Marie Antoinette's breasts.

I made a little cocktail by adding some Lebanese rose water to give that slightly soapy perfumed flavour and added some fruit and flowers to make it look pretty. I've used the veil that my mother-in-law wore for her wedding in 1925 as a backdrop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.