Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Day 255: Strokkur

Choosing a photo today was hard so I stopped trying to find the best one and just picked something very Icelandic - a geysir.

We were up early and off dog sledding - Iceland is inexplicably on GMT so sunrise is very late, which made for spectacular skies when we got to the mountain. We could not have asked for a better day, bright sunshine and clear blue skies, temperature hovering around zero but not a breath of wind. It was mainly Siberian Huskies, with one Alaskan who was of course my favourite, being quite greyhoundish. It was great fun, we loved it and the setting just added to the experience.

Next we set off on the Golden Circle, so we straddled continents, watched erupting geysirs, saw glaciers, volcanoes and more geo-thermal acticity than you could shake a stick at, Icelandic horses and of course waterfalls. What a day, we are exhausted. Comedy tumble of the day went to me when I went with a spectacular thump at Geysir - snow boots are useless on ice, followed by me having to have a further fall arrested by some charming American students. We gave up and went for chips. I think I would probably have broken my wrist were it not for the fact I was protecting the camera rather than trying to break my fall. I knew photography was good for the health.

Tomorrow we are promised totally foul weather so we will take a day to recover, shop and do the museums. Tuesday's trip to the south of the island is hanging in the balance with snow forecast but Icelanders are hardy folk so we should be ok.

I have a sore throat due to spending all day with my jaw on the floor at the scenery. I'll try and add a couple of extras if I can.

Ps I wish Blip had smellovision so you could share in the aroma au rotten eggs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.