Urban Walk

Today we went for an urban walk around Hackney before my return to Liverpool. Hard to decide on an image, so with your forbearance I'll use extras to give a flavour of the walk.

We started out past the recently refreshed Kingsmead Estate and went down to the sounds of Sunday football on Hackney Marshes (se extra). Then down the towpath beside the river Lea, and under the A12 (see extra; this picture was taken with canal boats behind me in an area under the arches that had been used for outside film projections. Not sure who the woman looking a bit like St. Joan of Arc is). Then on to the Olympic Park. My picture here (see extras) is taken with the stadium behind me, looking across to what is left of the Aquatics centre after the seating has been removed and showing (for Arachne) the cranes at work in Stratford.

We then turned to pass a rather smart plant (see extra), cross a canal and enter Hackney Wick, which was a light industrial area, now showing some signs of re-birth. But not The Lord Napier, which I have chosen for my blip because it is Derelict Sunday! Then back via Mabley Park, which is being converted into an edible park.

Oh, I missed a stop at an excellent cafe in Hacney Wick, for brunch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.