Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.

There's a title that tells a story.

Whilst packing my bag this morning, I had to fit in a rather large bottle of cough syrup. It was a bit *busy* in my tiny rucksack, so, my X20 came out and Gs little XQ1 went in. I thought, "I'm going to get a picture from my window". I think some of you might have picked up that things are not good at work due to the fall in the oil prices...

Well, we had a town hall style meeting at 9:45 to give us the broad outline of the re-structuring so the company can stay afloat; then we would be told individually how it affects us. I was er - home by noon. Needless to say, it was very tense for a couple of hours, and when I went back to my desk to collect my things, the last thing I thought of was to take a picture from my window.

So, I am officially (again) amongst the ranks of job hunters! ;(

Had a few phone calls to make and wanted to gather my thoughts on what needs to get done. G arrived home earlier than scheduled, and my colleague Del brought me some things which I didn't have time to pack.

And as the evening was still young, and I have to do as much as I can whilst I still have a Resident's ID card, I decided to head to Immigration to get my religion corrected on the system! To explain...

Last year, I decided to finally get a liquor permit so I can legally buy and drink alcohol! I put my application in via one of the two liquor chains here. Last week, I had a call to say that my application had been rejected because on the computer in Immigration, it says I am a Muslim (the default if nothing is stated on the form from the Typing Centre), and as liquor permits are not issued to Muslims, can I go and get this little detail fixed. They will then re-apply on my behalf! There you go...

My blip is of the entrance to the great building, also known as DNRD. As usual, we got sent from one counter to another a bit of a tour of it, but we did manage to leave about an hour later, having said detail corrected; and I didn't even have to part with any cash.

Went to Lamcy to eat and have Baskin Robbins ice cream! Well, really to pick up a watch which came free with the watch G got last week. It was a deal. And that was the 15th of February 2016. A day I shall remember for quite a while.

Hope your week started well. :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.