The "Shakin Brig"

BB and I headed off to visit my mum and dad today (aka granny and grandad).  They live a couple of hours north of us, but thankfully it was a nice bright and clear day for the drive.  There always seemed to be snow in the distance, but we never got close to it.

After lunch we took them out for a run in the car.  We headed in the direction of the metropolis of Brechin, but didn't stop, drove straight through and ended up in Edzell, a lovely wee village on the way to Glen Esk.  We took a wander to the “Shakin Brig”.  It was damaged in the recent storms (Frank I think), apparently the water was right up to, and over, the brig – which would have been a lot of water!  We didn’t go across it, though we saw others risking it.

We ended up in the old Tweed Warehouse café having scones ( granny and me), a flies cemetery (grandad) and a hot chocolate with all the trimmings (BB).  And then it was home for tea, before we headed back down the road. I feel like I have spent the day eating.

BB was tired and grumpy when we got home – I hope he wakes up in a better mood tomorrow.

Here is BB by the River North Esk at Edzell.  You can just make out the “Shakin Brig” if you look closely.  The extra is the Bridge itself – on close inspection you can see the damaged walkway and handrails about half way over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.