Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Wooden Ship

One of my Swedish grandfathers was a ship’s carpenter in Brooklyn after they emigrated from Sweden.   He also made beautiful carvings….We have this amazing work here--.it’s about 13’ by 18” and maybe 3” from front to back, and so intricate.  I tried to get the dust off and think there’s no other way to really show it off but a closeup photo.   He also made a sailing boat model for me when I was born ….. possibly this is one reason I love boats so much….?   
 a 1948 photo of him and my grandmother is HERE.

The Weekly blip challenge is ‘wood”…. unlike Yellow, there is a ton of wood in view at all times here at the island, but today was so soggy and wet, a downpour all day long,  an indoor blip seems the way to go….…maybe more to come..


Thanks for all the lovely comments on my Mom’s old photo on her valentine birthday… I’ve added the 1946 color slide as the extra -I think it looks amazingly good for having been kept in a damp basement so many years.  And now with all those old digitized photos, there are myriads of possibilities for future photos. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.