Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

David Hockney in Seattle!

Tonight I went to the members preview of the Seattle Art Museum's new show of landscape paintings in the collection of Paul Allen ( founder of Microsoft in 1975) .
Normally I wouldn't dream of heading downtown at rush hour on a rainy night but H had a dinner ( near SAM) with his old partners ... So I figured we could go together and ended up with one of the partner's wives ..old and good friend... coming with me while the hubbies dined.  ( put her in the pix for scale)
Enjoyed the exhibit a lot!   1) Paul Allen's favorite city is the same as mine ..Venice!  So there were lots of Venice paintings by Canaletto, Monet, Turner and more!  Fabulous! 2) it's not too big but covers lots of centuries and 3) there was this big Grand Canyon painting by David Hockney , the artist I admire so much and has inspired me to do my iPad drawings...this is not one of those but a series of small canvases put together ( reminiscent of his poloroid collages) inspired by a Moran painting of the grand canyon that Hockney saw in NY.    I know there is a new Hockney exhibition at the Tate Britain which , alas, I won't see but I'm really looking forward to seeing more Hockney in West Yorkshire later this year where he is from and lives now.
The lobby of the museum had a brand new very cool installation ...see extra.. Which I will blip and describe another time ...I'm sure I'll be back with the grandkids.   Also there is a Jacob Lawrence show of his Migration series which also deserves a blip ..I had this dear man as a teacher at the UW in the late 70s.
Enuf for one night however....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.