Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Out the Window

At bookclub today.   A birthday celebration for one of the gals on Valentine’s Day with wonderful food (tuna noodle casserole like we all made in 1965!)  and cake.   But I didn’t like the few photos I took (wish I'd taken the food!) so this is the view out the window. (there is a pond next door)  :-)   I did like the book.. Stoner, by John Williams, an “academic”(?) novel written in 1965 and reissued in 2003 about a midwest English professor who grew up on a farm and  leads an undistinguished life of no great expectations or privileges that would be hard not to call depressing.   But he considered this life successful because it was pursuing his passion and working at his "job".      The writing is so beautiful and flowing I would read another of this unknown (to me) author.  The often breaking news today is a much more dramatic story that seems so much more unreal than the novel! Yikes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.