Sporticus

By don_T

Family day holiday - with no family!

Interesting day; it has warmed up and is now just below freezing. All day it was off and on snow, ice pellets, a bit of freezing drizzle, grey, dark and gross. It is a statutory holiday today but not for federal employees, we had to work. I brought 2 dozen cinnamon buns that I had made last night, that helped my colleagues not be so glum about having to work. The downtown area is dark, everything is locked up, nothing is open. If you walk far enough you get to the large Eaton Centre shopping mall and it was open and bustling. My immediate family are all in Dublin for a few days, the last communication I had with them was from the Temple Bar and they were heading to the Guinness plant. It was a bleak and depressing day here, working when everyone was off enjoying themselves, and my kind neighbours invited me for a fantastic dinner. It felt like Christmas! The amazing chicken was done on the BBQ on a can of ginger ale...so good. I contributed the decadent vegan flourless chocolate cake, which was a huge hit. It was a lovely way to finish a grey day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.