The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Seend Cleeve (Sunday 14th February 2016)

Sunday may have been cold and crisp but it was dry and not too windy; far too nice to be indoors. I went out in the morning to run some errands and do a towpath walk. This time I managed not to get the car stuck in a bog at the same site but a lady returning from the path to the canal did warn me that I would need wellies as the path by the picnic site was badly flooded, and she was right (see Extras).
A swan and three full-size cygnets were lurking near the swing bridge in the hope of a free meal from passers-by. I was told by someone watching them that the cygnets were all friendly, and in my experience most swans are unless they are protecting young or being harassed by dogs, though, just like humans, they have a full range of different characters.

By the time I reached Seend Cleeve I was warm enough to sit in the sunshine and catch up on some reading for a full hour before walking back the way I had come. This blip was taken near to the bench seat I had occupied, next to Lock 17.

On the way there a saw a buzzard flying along the canal line. Apparently a grey heron was about but our paths didn't cross.

L.
16.2.2016 (1646 hr)

Blip #1760 (#2010 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #003
Day #2152
LOTD #994 (#1118 including archived blips)

A Walk Between Bowerhill and Seend Cleeve, 14 February 2016 (Flickr album)

Taken with Nikon Coolpix P900

Canals series
Kennet and Avon Canal series
Landscape series
Outdoor Places I Have Sat In series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Bo Diddley - Who do you love? (recorded 24 March 1956, Chicago IL)
I walked forty-seven miles of barbed wire, use a cobra snake for a neck tie,
Got a brand new house on the roadside, made from rattlesnake hide,
I got a brand new chimney made on top, made from a human skull,
Now come on baby, let's take a little walk, and tell me "Who do you love?"
Bo Diddley (vocal and guitar), Jody Williams (lead guitar), Jerome Green (maracas) and Frank Kirkland or Clifton James (drums).
I read an extensive article about the great Bo Diddley in the August 2005 copy of Mojo while I was sitting on the bench and watching this corner of the world, so he was an obvious choice for the day's musical choice. Many have covered this song (Ronnie Hawkins and the Hawks, the Misunderstood, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Juicy Lucy to name a few favourites) but as always the original, by the man who wrote it, is the one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.