Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Winter Itch Scratched

Epic Day!

Well the itch has been well and truly scratched.  If you remember from Friday I had borrowed some walking kit from my best mate, well they were crampons and an ice axe so that I could do my Winter Skills training in the Lake District today.

We climbed Blencathra and the weather was just perfect, there was quite a wind chill in the morning but by early afternoon it had died down and the views were just stunning.  Clear blue skies, a crisp winter’s morning, I just don’t think there’s anything better.

We practiced how to use crampons, using an ice axe to climb and then how to use the axe as a brake if you should fall or slip.  It was great fun, but hard work as well.

I loved it! I love the mountains!

BACK BLIPS:

Friday - Good Friday

Saturday - Wales v Scotland - The Friendly Game

Sunday - Brain of Britain

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.