Waterford Castle

My last evening staying in the grounds of Waterford Castle in Ireland. Tomorrow I fly back to the UK if the ferry man allows me to cross and the winds don't ground the flights.

Today was supposed to involve a big walk into Waterford but storm force winds and heavy rain meant that it wasn't possible at any point in the day. I'm now feeling rather bloated and under exercised thanks too far too much food (mainly too much potato and cheese) over the last few days and too much Guinness (I don't usually drink it but it feels more like a food than a drink).

Tonight I ate at Waterford Castle itself and the food was amazing but I couldn't manage any pudding even though it was already paid for. I worked out I had 5 different types of potato in one meal; confit, pureed, mash, boiled, crisp! This explains why I cannot move. As we left a very rainy, wet haired man who really looked startlingly like Paul Rankin said hello. I googled him to see if he was in Ireland right now but I'm no wiser! The head chef did used to work in Rankin's place for several years so maybe there is a link and it isn't all in my imagination!

Today I was introduced to a rock potato- this is a potato (I forgot to list above so that makes 6!) made to look like a grey pebble. It had a hard coating described to me as a bit like a salt crust! One of the oddest things I have seen. I couldn't eat mine as I was so full. The potato inside was baked and I can't find anything about them on the internet so maybe they are his own invention!

My plan for tonight is to knit a little and then pack so I can be up early for tomorrow's journey!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.