An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Topsy Turvy..

Backblip


Only photo taken today when I dropped my phone then inadvertently pressed the camera button as I picked it up!!

Well after a lovely night out with Natalie and Jim, I woke at 4.30am feeling terrible.    

Sat on the edge of the bed feeling nauseas, lightheaded and with a weird feeling across my shoulders and down my arms, as though the blood flowing through them had turned to ice.  This only lasted a minute or two but I continued to feel sick.

Propped myself up and sat there dosing on and off till 7.30am when David woke up.   He had eaten the same as me for dinner so we assumed it wasn't a reaction to the food I'd eaten.

Got showered but still felt yuk and really tired.   Re-arranged my dental check up that was due this afternoon and phoned my friend Agnes who I'd arranged to meet for lunch and she came up to mine instead.

Felt a bit brighter when she was here and managed to eat a little lunch.  She's a nurse and was concerned when I told her my symptoms, especially as by now Id' developed a pain in my right shoulder blade and she thought I should get checked out.  

She left just before 4pm making me promise I'd call NHS24 if my symptoms persisted or I began to feel worse.

 Managed to eat some toast for dinner but by 9.30pm I really was feeling worse again and the pain in my back was constant.   

David looked up a symptom checker on Google (always a good idea - not!) and informed me it could be anything from Pernicious anaemia to liver cancer but most likely heart failure!

Decided to call NHS24 for advice and before I could say I'm alright really, an ambulance was on its way and a short while later, two paramedics were in my living room, one sat on the sofa asking me questions and the other kneeling in front of me unfastening my top and sticking ECG pads to my chest.

Honestly, the things I do for male attention!  

ECG was fine, BP was slightly high (there's a surprise :) but because the back pain was still ongoing, they insisted they take me to PRI to be checked out properly.

And so 10 minutes later, I found myself trudging through the snow to the ambulance, with an overnight bag hastily thrown together by David (OMG it weighted a tonne!  I think he thought I was leaving home for a fortnight!  Thankfully I didn't have to carry it) 

Got to PRI at 11pm and was taken into a side room because all the cubicles were full.   BP was checked (still elevated) and I was told further tests would be done shortly when they'd received my info from NHS 24.

Of course by now I was feeling better.   Sick feeling had abated and back pain was still there but much reduced.  

Midnight rolled round and was still waiting to be seen, not complaining though as the staff were lovely and by now I was feeling a total fraud.


To be continued....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.