West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

After the cloud

I was woken up around 2am by howling winds. The roof was metal so anything blown against it was really LOUD. It wasn't raining, just very windy. I hoped it would blow over so I could see another sunrise. But no, when I looked outside all I could see was cloud. Visibility was almost nothing.

I'd booked a car to take me back down to the plains and with that weather I was happy to be leaving. I decided to take a car instead of the bus because the last time I took a bus down from an Indian hill town (Shimla many years ago) I think I was the only one on the bus who didn't throw up! I also didn't want to risk the bus breaking down and resulting in me missing my train.

This shot is the other benefit of not travelling by bus. I didn't even see this view on the way up as I was sitting on the wrong side of the bus. As we got lower, the cloud cleared and the sun came out. Not only could I see all the views, the driver also stopped so I could take photos. This is the Manjalar Dam which supplies all the drinking water for Kodaikanal and the surrounding area.

I'm now in Tiruchirappali, aka Trichy. Temples tomorrow.

Now that I'm somewhere with a better wifi connection, I've added a few extra shots to yesterday's sunrise. One is another of the sunrise and there are two night sky shots. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.