Unexpected Treat

I was in Washington DC and I had TWO treats today!  Firstly, I had lunch with my friend Antonia, whom I know from England, but she and her husband live in DC now and we get to see each other occasionally. After lunch we stopped for a coffee at an interesting bar by the name of 'Sugar' - with a Mary Poppins theme. Our seating arrangement was particularly interesting - make sure you look at the Extra photo!

I rushed back to the room to get ready for my flight back to London only to discover that our flight had cancelled and I'd have to stay another day. After feeling just slightly annoyed, I realised I had an opportunity not to be wasted!  

Since we normally arrive in DC late in the evening, it's usually not possible to take advantage of evening entertainment. For a long time I've been wanting to visit and see a performance at the Kennedy Center for Performing Arts. So I quickly looked at their programme for the evening - there's usually several things going on at once. I decided to go see a musical performance put on by the Washington National Opera. It was called 'Lost in the Stars', music by Kurt Weill, and was the adaptation of the 1948 Alan Paton novel, 'Cry, the Beloved Country'.  I had read this moving novel years ago, which is a rather tragic tale, taking place in South Africa just before the rise of Apartheid.

So after a quick nap to make sure I could make it through the evening - I walked down to the Kennedy Center, just in time to buy a ticket, take a few pictures and get settled into my seat. It was a beautiful performance - a welcome and unexpected treat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.