Duffy's Tavern in Boalsburg: Two Interior Scenes

It was finally the day of my much-awaited lunch date with a group of dear old friends! It was anticipated even more than usual because we had to reschedule twice due to winter weather. It's February, and that's just part of the deal. Whatever plans you have made, keep an eye on the weather!

You've already read about my French onion soup jones on Tuesday - the most recent day we were supposed to have lunch together, but didn't - that took me downtown in some of the most atrocious weather conditions to enjoy French onion soup at the Corner Room instead on that day. (Sometimes the heart wants what the heart wants! Or maybe it's the stomach? Hmm.)

I met my group just before noon, and we enjoyed a lovely time catching up together over good food. We've all known each other for 20 or 30 years or more. We have worked together and we are friends too; we have lots of history in common. Just as we were sitting down, I took one minute (yes, just one!) to walk around the restaurant, taking pictures of the empty rooms.

The room that we were in for our lunch is featured in the main photo above; as I was taking it, my friends were sitting at a table just inches behind me, laughing and chatting it up and sharing photos of great grandchildren and family events and cats. There is a second photo of another room in the extras.

This charming venue is one I've talked about before. Duffy's is a lovely old tavern located in Boalsburg, just 10 minutes from State College. The town claims to be the birthplace of Memorial Day, and I've shared photos of the statue of the three ladies (here and here) who supposedly decorated the graves on the very first Memorial Day.

I've also shared photos of some of my other favorite scenes in Boalsburg: the beautiful old graveyard at the Zion Lutheran Church, the World War II Memorial, and the military museum grounds where the People's Choice Festival is held each year in July.

But I keep coming back to Duffy's, which may be my favorite part of Boalsburg. I've shared photos before of my typical soup and salad lunch there, as well as the Boalsburger (which was delicious!).

On this day, I ordered the fish fry (why yes, it's Lent! so the fish fries abound): a huge piece of fish accompanied by a side of fries and some cole slaw for just $9.99. I added a cup of French onion soup on the side.

So now you can finally picture the venue that I am in while I am eating this delicious food that I talk about and show you! And picture me always, laughing and chatting and smiling with friends. Yes, always. With friends. Friends forever. :-)

A song to accompany this delightful event: Ringo Starr and His All Starr Band, with With a Little Help from My Friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.