a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Out of the blue, into the black

"My my, hey hey rock and roll is here to stay
its better to burn out than to fade away
My my, hey hey.


Out of the blue and into the black
They give you this but you pay for that
And once you're gone you can never come back
When you're out of the blue and into the black


The king is gone but he's not forgotten
This is the story of a Johnny Rotten
Its better to burn out than it is to rust
The king is gone but he's not forgotten.


Hey hey, my my, rock and roll can never die
There's more to the picture than meets the eye.
Hey hey, my my."

Neil Young - Out of the Blue


This is a moment in time.  

A few seconds before and you would have seen two rowers in a twin scull making their way back through Bristol's docks in the dark, lights on the brow and stern.  Sadly I was still wrestling with my tripod setting up when they went past.  To be honest with the length of exposure required for this shot all you would have seen is a line of light in the water.  

If you look in large you might just be able to make out the blue and white sign on the bridge directed to the marine traffic, telling them to give way to oncoming vessels.  To the left, the Glass Boat restaurant gets ready for the evening's diners bearing a sign advertising its breakfasts.

In the meantime Bristol's commuters are on their way home.

Hopefully there was more to the picture than initially met the eye.  You've got to love old Neil :-)

It is of course another in my sequence of bridge photographs, and an opportunity to take a long exposure night time shot during the blue hour.  I shall try to avoid blipping any more for a little while now - variety being the spice of life after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.