Jutting Jetty

The Lent poem today is called "Affliction" by George Herbert, and is about battling depression, it seems; this is the fourth of five stanzas:

Oh, help, my God! let not their plot
                    Kill them and me,
                    And also thee,
Who art my life: dissolve the knot,
             As the sun scatters by his light
             All the rebellions of the night.

Have seen such beauty today - not just the sea at Milfontes, which was glorious, but driving across the lower Alentejo - the sunset in the wide skies above Ferreira do Alentejo was beyond beautiful... and the trompe-l'œil in a tiny chapel there, where the curator kissed us both on both cheeks...

The poem reminded me that, unlike in Sutton, I've not struggled with depression at all here yet... And I know a jetty jutting into water is commonplace, but just look at the colour of it, and the colour of the Mira River in the sunlight...



                  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.