Reaching Out In Love

One of the stanzas from "It is dangerous to read newspapers", by Margaret Atwood:

I am the cause, I am a stockpile of chemical
toys, my body
is a deadly gadget,
I reach out in love, my hands are guns,
my good intentions are completely lethal.


Hard to know what to say about this poem, except that I think it is true that none of us are guiltless of the atrocities committed in this world, especially if done by our own countries... Also, that anyone who has ever tried to help others finds, if honest, that our "good intentions" can indeed be "completely lethal"...

Nevertheless, none of that negates the beauty and the love that is also in this world of ours - this blossom appeared outside our house today and was a bright spot in a return to cold and rain...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.