To London and back

I had a meeting this morning, which meant an early rise for an early train. Here is how it went ........

* travelling from home, a fantastic moon to the west, accompanied by a bright star which I thought was Jupiter.
* I walked from the car park to the station, passing a record shop (how unusual is that !), Lizard Inc records. The window display made me very sad - see extra.
* the train journey was brilliant (the frost covered countryside was wonderful) and awful (the train was half an hour late)
* because it was late I had to catch a cab to make up time. The cab driver was also a fireman. I learnt that most firemen had other jobs, as you couldn't bring up a family in and around London on a salary of £29,000 a year. There are 25,000 cabs in London. 
* the meeting went as well as could be be expected
* with time to spare before my train, I walked from Westminster across London to have a look at the Kings Cross redevelopment. The boulevard up from Kings Cross is hoarded on one side - beyond it is the site of Google's potential UK HQ, although I doubt it will ever happen. But the displays - which keep changing - reflect local history and people, and are fascinating. The blip is a section of one, Edith Nesbitt being born in Kennington.
* I walked to the Friends HQ opposite Euston. My favourite cafe on a working visit to London, where I can also catch up on work e-mails using "Quaker Wi-Fi", a concept I like. The Quakers do a good fruit cake.
* Return home - I fell asleep on the train, startled awake by the ticket collector. 
* I enjoy travelling to London, and on work trips I am always glad to come back :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.