Under the Weather

I am at home today, feeling particularly useless. This cold is not the one or two day wonder I expected.

Quick blip. A friend sent me a link to the ITV East Midlands news site, which showed the very quick demolition of Leicester City Council's New Walk Centre by controlled explosion on Sunday. It had been the HQ of LCC for 40 years, and I worked there for 5 of those, a long time ago. Fantastic views from it - one of the tallest buildings in the City - but it had serious structural failures which made it increasingly unsafe.

I liked Leicester a lot, but have not been back for 20 or so years. I always liked its cultural diversity, its parks and open spaces, its good centre with excellent market, and the fabulous countryside to the north and east.

I might visit this year, it would be interesting to see Richard III's new tomb in the Cathedral. And to see all the changes that will have happened since I was rooted in this City in the East Midlands.

The controlled explosion, right in the middle of a crowded city centre, is astonishing - and dusty !

http://www.itv.com/news/central/story/2015-02-22/leicesters-new-walk-towers-topple-in-amazing-controlled-explosion/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.