The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Colours of Gloucester

Today I wanted to try out something in Gloucester for the Dickens challenge, so I took the bus from outside my work place. It was a good afternoon to be alive, the landscape transformed by sunlight and bursting buds. The Alpacas at Whiteshill were not skipping in the meadows, but then again I have never seen them skip, not even in spring time.

In Gloucester I visited more than five charity shops, all in the vicinity of Kings Square. Gloucester city centre has plenty .... eventually I headed over to the Cathedral, the city's most famous feature, certainly the loveliest. I walked around inside, but did not explore the cloisters, I don't know why not. It struck me that the last time I had been there was with a group of young adults in wheelchairs, and I remembered how carefully we'd had to negotiate the ramps inside the Cathedral. I realised that most of the time I take my mobility for granted, just as I take Gloucester Cathedral for granted. I can't drive because my brain won't let me (dyspraxia) but I can, and do, take the bus, train or plane on my own, and I go where I like. I'm fortunate.

The little alley where I wanted to take my blipshot was looking very charming and bijou, more like a Visit Gloucester poster shot than a Dickensian Street. I will attempt to put up a image of it as an extra, if the phone will let me.

As the main shot, I've chosen the light streaming through the stained glass windows of the Cathedral and tinting the stone pillars. I spent a peaceful few minutes in the Cathedral, and have vowed bit to let another year pass before I return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.