Tiny Tuesday .....

On Friday last week I was the lucky recipient of a special letter from Canada.

But not just any letter ....

This one was from a friend of ours that lives in Canada.

But that's not the only thing that made this letter so special ....

Before the letter made its way to me it was carried by sled dogs in the 32nd Annual Seguin Sled Dog Mail Run.  This sled dog mail run carries mail from Humphrey, Ontario to Rosseau, Ontario, Canada.  I was beyond excited to receive such an honor!  Thank you, P!

Besides a letter from my friend there was a letter in the "Sledvelope" explaining what the mail run is all about.  It says that each year a special photograph is selected for the stamp (my blip photo) and a "Sledvelope" is created.  The sledvelopes are then addressed to individuals (like me!), loaded onto the sleds in Humphrey and delivered to the Postmaster in Rosseau ... about 17 kilometers of groomed trails.  The sledvelopes are then hand-canceled and sent on their way! 

This year's stamp features Cory, the lead dog on long time musher Judy Jacobson from Chardon, Ohio. 

I was so honored that she thought to send her letter to me this way.  I will forever cherish both her letter and this unique Sledvelope!

I have posted today's squirrel picture to my resurrected 365Project journal!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.