chantler63

By chantler63

Giant Panorama

A whole day at Giants Castle camp – now do I point out that they need an apostrophe according to whether they have one or more than one giant?
It was a beautiful morning and we were awake early watching.  We went on a walk – supposedly easy and, in fact it was OK, but after 4 miles in the heat it was very tiring.  A couple of restorative beers in the bar helped and the wifi proved quite good.  A last minute decision to visit the caves meant a ‘sprint’ to the tour point. It was worth it though but it means my legs are saying they would rather not go quite so far tomorrow!!  A cooling shower worked wonders to bring back a sense of normality.
I was then sitting on the bed looking at my photos while John was taking his shower, when I heard the ‘patter of not so tiny feet’ and realised a baboon had come into the room!  We had only left the door open a crack. John didn’t hear me call out or scream when the baboon came the other side of the bed, grabbed something and ran. It had only been looking for food and, as our level of self-catering is going to the restaurant, there was hardly anything’; the baboon had grabbed the packet of dried fruit left on the bedside table and then had the audacity to sit on our balcony and eat it!  Quite scary as I didn’t know what a baboon would do in a hotel room!

Tomorrow we move on to a different part of the Drakensburg Mountains and I wonder what will happen there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.