Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The street performer

I had an extremely frustrating morning, a 15 minute journey to an appointment took 45 minutes in the early morning traffic so that I lost my appointment, and then had barely enough time to turn around and make it back to the station to get my train to London. I was going to see the exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery entitled 'Vogue 100 - a centenary of style' to celebrate 100 years of the British Vogue magazine.

The exhibition is very good, curated by decade so one can clearly see the changes in fashions, photography and models over the century. There are many photos by David Bailey, Mario Testino, Cecil Beaton, and (my favourite) Irving Penn but surprisingly none by Richard Avedon who was the lead photographer for Vogue in the 1960's. No photographs were allowed so I bought postcards of some of my favourite images, which I have added as extras  - a beautifully composed image by George Hayningen-Huene from 1929 of models in woollen bathing suits (!) and another of Linda Evangelista by Patrick Dermarchelier from 1991. There was an exquisite image of Christy Turlington in a huge rose shaped hat that only shows part of her profile, and she has the most perfect profile I think I have ever seen. Of course, the model who dominated the show was Kate Moss who I don't like at all - I just never understood what the fuss was all about.

Tonight we have Thomas' parents' evening, so I am about to rush off to that. Tomorrow we go to Durham, and Adam and his girlfriend are coming home for the weekend to look after Murdoch and also because he is exhausted and 'needs a break from Cambridge'. They will only get here late tomorrow night after lectures finish at 6pm and Adam has to be back for a supervision on Sunday afternoon, so it will be a short break.

This is a shot of one of the street mime artists in Trafalgar Square.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.