Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Night workshop in London

Our workshop with Doug Chinnery and Charlotte Gilliat started at 9pm last night. There were 6 of us plus the tutors and we shared 2 taxis.  I was in a taxi driven by Terry and made sure he was fully awake after each photoshoot!

It was very cold, but the air was clear and there was no dampness. I had 5 layers on my top half and that was barely enough to keep me warm by 0500. I was frozen.

I'm very pleased with some of the shots, especially some taken yesterday, but they can't be shown here. This shot was taken at 34 secs after midnight. It was a snatched shot as the group moved off and I did not expect it to work. The ambient light of the city creates very unusual images. This is taken in a back street of Waterloo and shows the London Eye.

There are extras. I could not resist! One is an unusual image for me, being abstract. I wonder how many Londoners can identify where I took this?  I took a lot of images and they look good in mono too, but I thought I'd use a colour image to show the subtle shades. Clue: this is something very functional.

We ate at 0300 and staggered on to 0700. I had 90 mins sleep at the hotel before a quick shower, breakfast and my train at 0930. I slept on the train and again all afternoon at home. Hopefully I won't be too tired tomorrow!

I had a great trip to  London and hope to go again this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.